American Crime Writers League

About our President, Jan Grape

Jan Grape

Jan Grape is an award-winning writer with a successful mystery series and more than two dozen short stories to her credit. Her novels include Austin City Blue and Dark Blue Death, both featuring Austin Police detective Zoe Barrow; a standalone novel, What Doesn't Kill You; and a collection of her short stories, Found Dead in Texas.

She is co-editor with R. Barri Flowers of two American Crime Writers League anthologies, Murder Past and Murder Present and Murder Here, Murder There. She also co-edited with Dean James the award-winning Deadly Women, published by Carrol & Graf, non-fiction about, for and by female mystery authors.

Jan won an Anthony for Best Short Story, "A Front Row Seat," and has been nominated for the Edgar, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards. For a number of years, Jan and her late husband, Elmer, owned Mysteries and More bookstore in Austin, TX. She is an organizer and charter member of the Heart of TX Sisters In Crime Chapter and is President of the American Crime Writers League.

FacebookJan Grape